Give My Ashes To The Coast

It’s a fleeting visit from me tonight. I’m working on a new screenplay. It’s called Give My Ashes To The Coast.

And in case you were wondering, this is the album that’s inspiring this project. I came home from this band’s show on Saturday night so emotional yet invigorated and inspired to write. I wrote until 6AM the next morning. It was a wonderful experience.

It never fails to astound me how other peoples’ creative practices are miles away from my own, and yet, when you pick them apart, you can carry themes or even aesthetics (yes, film aesthetics from music – who’da thunk it?!) over into your own work. I should say that I don’t plan on making this into a film. I feel like I’ve found my comfort zone over the winter break and I firmly believe that it’s – surprise surprise – in writing. It would be lovely though to see it on screen.

This project’s a very personal one to me as it deals with themes that run through my everyday life. The self-doubt, the self-loathing, the feeling that you’re going to amount to nothing because of where you come from, the inability to accept responsibility for your own shortcomings and the expectations people heap on you after you do one good thing. It’s going to be fun to explore.

Not only that, but I tend to shy away from writing anything particularly dramatic or harrowing so it’s going to be a first for me as a writer.

So… yeah.

Listen to the album I linked up there.

You can find a short, provisional, blurb for Give My Ashes To The Coast here.

Leave a comment